Link to our English siteLink to our French site

Publications de la Société

 

À travers les décennies, la Société philatélique haïtienne a eu la chance d'avoir de nombreux membres qui ont partagé leurs observations, leurs découvertes de collectionneurs, et le fruit de leurs recherches sur les nombreux sujets qui englobent la philatélie d'Haïti.

Au cours des dernières années, nous avons offert des publications, en format numérique et imprimé, aux personnes intéressées par ce qui touche à Haïti.

Notre principal mode de diffusion à travers les années a été par le biais de notre bulletin trimestriel, maintes fois primé, Haiti Philately. Maintenant dans sa quarantième année de publication, notre bulletin en langue anglaise a servi à documenter les nombreux aspects de la philatélie haïtienne. Les sujets couverts comprennent les timbres, l’histoire postale, les épreuves, les essais, les erreurs, les timbres fiscaux, les tarifs postaux, les divers services aériens à destination et en provenance d'Haïti, divers services de livraison par paquebot, le courrier pendant l’occupation militaire, et bien plus encore.

Le regretté F. Burton Sellers, ancien président de la Société philatélique haïtienne et surtout connu comme ancien président de l'American Philatelic Society, était un fervent promoteur de la philatélie haïtienne. M. Sellers a été largement connu pour sa participation à des expositions nationales et internationales, ses nombreux articles dans de nombreuses publications sur des sujets concernant la philatélie haïtienne, et ses conférences prononcées devant des collectionneurs lors d’événements majeurs. Suite à la vente de sa collection, comprenant plus de soixante volumes, en 2006, la Société a obtenu la permission d’offrir une version numérisée de la majeure partie de sa collection afin d’en montrer l’étendue.

En 2008, La Société philatélique haïtienne était heureuse d'annoncer la publication d'une importante monographie qui a jeté un éclairage définitif sur l'une des questions les plus confondantes de la philatélie d'Haïti : l'identification des surcharges authentiques parmi les nombreuses contrefaçons de l’émission de 1902. Écrit par Peter C. Jeannopoulos, Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue est l’ouvrage de référence sur les surcharges de 1902. Cet ouvrage s’est mérité une médaille d'or dans le cadre du concours de littérature de l'APS StampShow de Pittsburgh, en août 2009, et il peut obtenu auprès de la Société.

En 2010, la Société philatélique haïtienne a publié sa deuxième monographie, une deuxième étude spéciale intitulée Early Air Mail of Haiti. Rédigée par Peter C. Jeannopoulos, cette publication est importante pour quiconque se intéresse à l’aérophilatélie d'Haïti. Ce travail est le résultat de recherches mettant en évidence de nouvelles découvertes concernant les premiers vols expérimentaux menés par les pilotes de l'United States Marine Corps dans les années 1920. M. Jeannopoulos documente soigneusement ses découvertes à l'encontre de ce qui est noté dans la littérature existante. Il présente ses observations d'une manière compréhensive et concise. Cette étude est présentée en 28 pages, dont 18 pages en couleur illustrant de nombreux premiers vols et détaillant soigneusement l'identification de ces découvertes. Cette œuvre majeure a reçu un Silver Award dans la catégrie “open” du concours de littérature de l'APS StampShow de Columbus (Ohio) en août 2011.

En 2015, la Société philatélique haïtienne a publié une troisième monographie intitulée Haiti First Flights (les premiers vols d'Haïti). Cette publication est un ouvrage de référence complet portant sur le développement de l'aérophilatélie haïtienne. On y dresse la liste des nombreux premiers vols associés à ce pays des Caraïbes. L'auteure, Barbara A. Levine, a rassemblé les renseignements provenant de nombreuses sources et portant sur les vols à destination et au départ d'Haïti. Des renseignements détaillés sur chacun de ces vols se retrouvent dans cet ouvrage de 45 pages.

Des renseignements complets sur les prix de toutes les publications disponibles se trouvent au bas de cette page.

Le bulletin de la Société

Versions imprimées d'Haiti Philately

Coverture d'un exemplaire du bulletin Haiti PhilatelyToutes les éditions du bulletin trimestriel Haïti Philately sont disponibles. Le prix des numéros varie entre 2 $ et 3 $ en fonction du numéro demandé. De plus amples informations sont disponibles dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Vérifiez l’Index d'Haiti Philately approprié pour les numéros que vous n’avez pas en votre possession ou pour acheter ceux contenant des articles qui pourraient vous intéresser.

 

 

Versions numériques d'Haiti Philately

CD contenant les anciens numéros d'Haiti PhilatelyLes 40 premiers volumes du bulletin de la Société sont également disponibles sous forme numérique sur CD-ROM, pour ceux qui désirent les obtenir en format PDF. Les éditions publiées après le vol. 40, n° 4, sont également disponibles sur une base individuelle, tel qu’indiqué ci-dessous.

L'Index d'Haiti Philately

Pour tirer le meilleur profit de l'important volume d'articles publiés dans le bulletin de la Société, les lecteurs verront dans l’Index d’Haiti Philately un outil indispensable. Des exemplaires de l'Index sont disponibles au coût de revient, en plus des frais d'envoi. Cette publication de 31 pages est également disponible en format numérique.

La collection de F. Burton Sellers

CD contenant la collection SellersLa Société philatélique haïtienne offre aux collectionneurs la possibilité d'obtenir un DVD contenant des versions numérisées des 64 volumes de la collection d’Haïti de F. Burton Sellers, reconnue mondialement. La production de ce document a été rendue possible grâce aux efforts de l'ancien président de la Société, Peter C. Jeannopoulos.

Ce DVD contient près de 3000 pages de la collection Sellers. Il ne comprend pas les “Têtes de la Liberté” puisque cette partie de la collection a été vendue aux enchères il y a plusieurs années. La partie timbre-poste de la collection s’arrête en 1969.

Des fichiers disponibles pour téléchargement montrent la qualité de la numérisation et la richesse des informations que vous trouverez dans ces 64 volumes. Ce DVD témoigne de la beauté de cette magnifique collection.

Cette simple description de la collection Sellers ne saurait transmettre adéquatement toute son ampleur et la couverture approfondie de tous les aspects de la philatélie d'Haïti qui s’y trouvent. Dire que ce document est intéressant constitue un euphémisme!

De l'Insurrection des esclaves de Saint-Domingue à l'indépendance d'Haïti, 1791-1804

CD avec la présentation sur l'insurrectionLa Société philatélique haïtienne offre aux collectionneurs la possibilité d'obtenir un DVD contenant une présentation de 47 pages du philatéliste français Jean-François Gibot. Ce diaporama a servi de support à une conférence donnée le 5 juillet 2008 dans les locaux de l’Académie Française de Philatélie.

La présentation retrace la période qui a vu Saint-Domingue devenir Haïti. Elle mêle étroitement histoire postale et Histoire avec un grand H, en se penchant sur les principaux événements historiques de cette époque, de la transformation de cette colonie en une nouvelle nation.

L’émission provisoire d'Haïti de 1902

Coverture de la Special Studies no. 1En 2008, la publication d’une importante monographie a jeté un éclairage définitif sur l'une des questions les plus confondantes de la philatélie d'Haïti : l'identification des surcharges authentiques parmi les nombreuses contrefaçons de l’émission de 1902. Écrit par Peter C. Jeannopoulos, cet ouvrage est édité par la Société philatélique haïtienne en tant que Special Study No. 1 (Étude Spéciale No. 1) et elle est toujours disponible auprès de la Société.

Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue (L’émission provisoire d’Haïti de 1902, rédigé en anglais) est l’ouvrage définitif concernant l'impression de cette surcharge de 1902 en Haïti. Ces 122 pages sont divisées en cinq chapitres : le chapitre I discute la méthodologie de l'auteur et un système de classification révisé; le chapitre II se concentre sur l’authenticité et ses critères identifiants, avec des illustrations précises; le chapitre III illustre clairement comment chacun des 29 types différents de contrefaçon diffère du type authentique.

L’auteur Peter C. Jeannopoulos, ancien président de Société philatélique haïtienne et membre du Collector’s Club de New York, déclare que « certains résultats peuvent sembler controversés au commencement mais après une lecture et un examen soigneux des illustrations, je pense que la plupart des lecteurs auront peu de doute sur mon attention au détail et à une quantité de recherche concluante. »

La recherche de l'auteur sur la littérature existante est complète. Le chapitre IV précise les informations erronées et les contradictions dans la littérature, aussi bien que les imperfections dans les illustrations d’accompagnement. Il y a huit annexes qui documentent et/ou récapitulent cette étude. Le travail s’achève avec une bibliographie détaillée, qui inclut tous les écrits sur le sujet en anglais, ainsi que les références les plus importantes en allemand et en français.

Parmi les 122 pages, il y a 30 pages d’illustrations couleur des premières utilisations connues, des variétés, des enveloppes, des multiples les plus les plus grands, etc. Le volume a un format de 8.5 x 11 pouces (environ 22 x 28 cm) , parfaitement relié, avec une illustration couleur en couverture.

Toute personne intéressée par cette émission sera fortement avisé de commander un exemplaire numéroté car seulement 125 copies ont été imprimées. Le livre est d'intérêt non seulement pour les collectionneurs d’Haïti, mais sera aussi d’un grand intérêt pour les collectionneurs de contrefaçons en raison de la méthodologie utilisée par l'auteur pour les identifier.

Cet ouvrage s’est mérité une médaille d'or dans le cadre du concours de littérature de l'APS StampShow de Pittsburgh, en août 2009.

Les premiers courriers aériens d'Haiti

Coverture de la Special Studies no. 2En 2010, la Société philatélique haïtienne a publié sa seconde monographie, Early Air Mail of Haiti (les premiers courriers aériens d'Haiti), en tant que Special Study No. 2 (Étude Spéciale No. 2). L'auteur de cet ouvrage est Peter C. Jeannopoulos, ancien président de la Société. Cette publication est importante pour ceux qui s'intéresssent à l'aérophilatélie d’Haiti. Ce travail est le résultat de recherches mettant en évidence de nouvelles découvertes concernant les premiers vols expérimentaux menés par les pilotes de l'United States Marine Corps dans les années 1920. M. Jeannopoulos documente soigneusement ses découvertes à l'encontre de ce qui est noté dans la littérature existante. Il présente ses observations d'une manière compréhensive et concise. Cette étude est présentée en 28 pages, dont 18 pages en couleur illustrant de nombreux premiers vols et détaillant soigneusement l'identification de ces découvertes.

Le travail de M. Jeannopoulos débute par l'étude des cachets observés sur les enveloppes des premiers vols expérimentaux. La marque d'un de ces vols précédemment non-identifié a été trouvée sur plusieurs d'entre elles. Au fur et à mesure de ses recherches, il découvrit que plusieurs premières dates n'étaient pas correctes pour certaines marques de cette période.

Alors que la rareté de cette nouvelle marque identifiée n'a pu être établie, cette publication permet d'assister les collectionneurs dans l'examen de leurs collections et de communiquer leurs découvertes. En utilisant, pour la commodité, un catalogue existant, l'auteur a désigné cette nouvelle découverte comme étant le "Type 3A”.

Cette publication est divisée en quatre chapitres :

  • Chapitre I — Erreurs et ambiguitées aérophilatéliques
  • Chapitre II — Cachet du courrier aérien Type 3
  • Chapitre III — Une nouvelle découverte le Type 3A
  • Chapitre IV — Les courriers aériens de 1925

L'auteur est un spécialiste reconnu des timbres et papiers fiscaux haïtiens. A coté de ses présentations en compétition nationales et internationales, ces précédentes publications furent: Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue (L'émission Provisoire de 1902) (2008), Images of Port au Prince (2000), A Study of Haiti's 20 Centime Lithographed Stamp of 1895 and Plating Guide (Etude du 20 centimes lithographié de 1895 et guide de planchage) (1987). Il a aussi publié de nombreux articles concernant la philatélie haïtienne dans nombreuses revues philatéliques.

Cette œuvre majeure a reçu un Silver Award dans la catégrie “open” du concours de littérature de l'APS StampShow de Columbus (Ohio) en août 2011.

Les premiers vols d’Haïti

Couverture de la Special Studies No. 3En 2015, la Société a publié sa troisième monographie en tant que Special Study No. 3 (Étude Spéciale No. 3), Haiti’s First Flights (les Premiers vols d'Haïti). Rédigé par Barbara A. Levine, cet ouvrage servira d’outil de référence, résumant l’évolution de l’aérophilatélie haïtienne, comme en témoignent les nombreux premiers vols associés à ce pays des Caraïbes. Ce livre de 45 pages comprend des illustrations en couleur de certains plis aériens et il comprend également des listes des vols répertoriés dans des ouvrages antérieurs, en plus d’autres vols identifiés dans la littérature spécialisée ainsi que par certains collectionneurs. Cette publication comprend également des illustrations de cachets postaux aériens haïtiens et de marques d'erreur. Une annexe complémente les autres entrées dans le catalogue et traite d’autres vols d'intérêt mais qui ne sont pas considérés comme des premiers vols. L'étude se termine par une liste de références offrant au lecteur d'autres options pour poursuivre ses recherches.

Cet important ouvrage fait des renvois à d'autres sources, ajoutant de l’information sur les numéros de vol, lorsqu'ils sont disponibles. Conçu pour servir d’ouvrage de référence pour les amateurs de poste aérienne, les renseignements au sujet des vols sont résumés sous forme de tableau pour plus de commodité. Les vols sont présentés par ordre chronologique pour faciliter l'identification en fonction d’une date spécifique. Les tableaux contiennent des entrées pour les premiers vols vers Haïti et en partance d’Haïti.

La monographie est divisée en sept chapitres, chacune représentant une période distincte, reflétant le développement du service de la poste aérienne en Haïti, en plus d’une section pour les annexes.

  • Chapitre I — Les pionniers et les premiers vols militaires américains en Haïti
  • Chapitre II — West Indian Aerial Express (WIAE)
  • Chapitre III — New York Rio and Buenos Aires Airline (NYRBA)
  • Chapitre IV — Pan American Airways (PAA)
  • Chapitre V — Vols spéciaux
  • Chapitre VI — L'ère moderne (de la Seconde Guerre mondiale à nos jours)
  • Chapitre VII – Annexes

L'auteur est une spécialiste bien connue de l’aérophilatélie haïtienne et elle agit à titre de rédacteur en chef de la revue trimestrielle de la Société, Haiti Philately, depuis mars 1999.

Passer une commande

Pour commander une de nos publications, veuillez communiquer avec notre secrétaire-trésorier par intérim, Ubaldo Deltoro, par courrier électronique à l’adresse : u007ubi@aol.com ou par courrier à l'adresse suivante :

Mr. Wally Deltoro
5709 Marble Archway
Alexandria, VA 22315
États-Unis

Les acheteurs de l’extérieur des États-Unis peuvent payer leurs achats grâce au service PayPal, en utilisant le nom de compte: treasurer@haitiphilately.org. Une taxe supplémentaire de 5% du total est exigée lorsque vous utilisez ce mode de paiement.

 

List of publication prices for Society members

Publication Prix Expédition
É-U
Expédition
Canada
Expédition
International
Bulletin Haiti Philately        
Volumes 1 à 20, par numéro imprimé 2,00 $ - 2,50 $ 1,00 $ 1,00 $ 3,00 $
Volumes 20 et suivants, par numéro imprimé 3,00 $ 1,00 $ 1,00 $ 3,00 $
Version numérique d'un numéro de HP,
par courrier électronique
1,00 $ n/a n/a n/a
CD contenant les volumes 1 à 37, comprenant une version numérique de l'Index of HP, Volumes 1 à 31 25,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ 5,00 $
L'ouvrage Index of Haiti Philately        
Édition imprimée de l'Index of HP,
Volumes 1 à 31 (31 pages)
10,00 $ 3,00 $ 4,00 $ 10,00 $
Version numérique de l'Index of HP,
Volumes 1 à 31, par courrier électronique
5,00 $ n/a n/a n/a
         
Special Studies        
#1 Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue,
version imprimée
27,00 $ 4,00 $ 4,00 $ 13,00 $

#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
version imprimée

10,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ 5,00 $
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
version numérique
10,00 $ n/a n/a n/a

#3 Haiti's First Flights,
version imprimée

20,00 $ 3,00 $ 4,00 $ 8,00 $
         
La collection de F. Burton Sellers
DVD contenant les 64 volumes
25,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ 5,00 $
         
DVD de De l'Insurrection des esclaves de Saint-Domingue à l'indépendance d'Haïti 4,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ 5,00 $

 

List of prices for non Society members

Publication Prix Expédition
É-U
Expédition
Canada
Expédition
International
Bulletin Haiti Philately        
Volumes 1 à 20, par numéro imprimé 3,00 $ 1,00 $ 1,00 $ 3,00 $
Volumes 20 et suivants, par numéro imprimé 4,00 $ 1,00 $ 1,00 $ 3,00 $
Version numérique d'un numéro de HP,
par courrier électronique
2,00 $ n/a n/a n/a
CD contenant les volumes 1 à 37, comprenant une version numérique de l'Index of HP, Volumes 1 à 31 35,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ voir
ci-dessous
L'ouvrage Index of Haiti Philately        
Édition imprimée de l'Index of HP,
Volumes 1 à 31 (31 pages)
15,00 $ 3,00 $ 4,00 $ 10,00 $
Version numérique de l'Index of HP,
Volumes 1 à 31, par courrier électronique
10,00 $ n/a n/a n/a
         
Special Studies        
#1 Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue,
version imprimée
35,00 $ 4,00 $ 4,00 $ 13,00 $

#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
version imprimée

15,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ 5,00 $
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
version numérique
15,00 $ n/a n/a n/a

#3 Haiti's First Flights,
version imprimée

25,00 $ 3,00 $ 4,00 $ 8,00 $
         
La collection de F. Burton Sellers
DVD contenant les 64 volumes
35,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ voir
ci-dessous
         
DVD de De l'Insurrection des esclaves de Saint-Domingue à l'indépendance d'Haïti 6,00 $ 3,00 $ 3,00 $ voir
ci-dessous

Frais d'expédition pour CD et DVD aux non-membres :
Les frais d'expédition pour l'envoi de CD et DVD à l'extérieur des États-Unis et du Canada varient considérablement d'un pays à l'autre. Bien que la Société subventionne les frais d'envoi pour les membres résidant dans ces régions, les non-membres qui souhaitent commander des CD et DVD doivent communiquer avec notre secrétaire-trésorier par intérim, Ubaldo Deltoro, afin d'obtenir un estimé des frais d'expédition qu'ils encourront avec leur achat. Bien que nous regrettions cet inconvénient, nous invitons les non-membres à acheter nos publications électroniques ou imprimées. L'obligation d'obtenir un estimé des frais d'expédition ne s'applique pas aux membres de la Société.

Link to our English siteLink to our French site

Society Publications

 

In its decades-long history, the Society has had the good fortune to have many members share their observations, their collecting finds, and their research in the many subjects that encompass the philately of Haiti.

In recent years, we have offered publications to those interested in all things Haitian in electronic and printed form.

Our main mode of sharing through the years has been through our award winning quarterly journal, Haiti Philately. Now in its forty-first year of publication, our English language journal has served to document the many aspects of Haitian philately. What is covered? Subjects that come to mind are stamps, postal history, proofs, essays, errors, revenues, postal rates, the various air services to and from Haiti, various paquebot services, military occupation mail, and so much more.

The late F. Burton Sellers, a former President of the Haiti Philatelic Society and better known for his Presidency of the national American Philatelic Society, was a tireless supporter of collecting Haiti. Mr. Sellers was widely known for his national and international exhibits, his numerous articles in many publications on subjects regarding Haitian philately, and his talks to interested collectors at major events. Following the sale of his sixty plus volume collection in 2006, the Society was permitted to offer scans of much of his collection as a permanent record of his extensive holdings.

In 2008, the Haiti Philatelic Society was pleased to announce the availability of an important monograph that shed light on one of the most perplexing issues within the philately of Haiti – the identification of genuine overprints versus numerous forgeries of Haiti's series of 1902. Written by Peter C. Jeannopoulos, Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue is the definitive volume relating to Haiti’s 1902 overprint issue. This work, winner of a Gold Award in the open Literature Competition at the APS StampShow in Pittsburgh in August 2009, may obtained from the Society.

In 2010, the Haiti Philatelic Society released its second monograph, Special Study No. 2, entitled “Early Air Mail of Haiti”. Authored by Peter C. Jeannopoulos, this publication is important for anyone interested in the aerophilately of Haiti. The work is a result of research by the author which yielded new discoveries concerning early Haitian experimental airmail flights conducted by United States Marine Corps pilots in the 1920s. Jeannopoulos carefully documented his findings versus those which have been noted in existing literature and presented his observations in a comprehensive, concise manner. The study itself spans 28 pages, with 18 pages in full color illustrating various early flights, and carefully details the newly identified discoveries. This major work received a Silver Award in the open Literature Competition in August 2011 at the APS StampShow in Columbus, Ohio.

In 2015, the Haiti Philatelic Society released a new monograph entitled "Haiti's First Flights", the Society's Special Study No. 3. This latest release is a comprehensive reference source that summarizes the development of Haitian aerophilately as documented by the many first flights associated with that Caribbean nation. Author Barbara A. Levine has combined flight information from various sources for both flights inbound and outbound from Haiti, summarized it in table format and provided the reader detailed listings for each entry in its 45 pages.

Complete pricing information for all available publications may be found at the bottom of this page.

The Society Journal

Printed versions of Haiti Philately

Cover of an issue of Haiti hilatelyAll issues of the Haiti Philately (HP) journal are available for sale in printed format. Prices for these issues fluctuate between $2 and $3 depending on the issue wanted, with further information in the table below.

Check the appropriate HP INDEX for those issues that you are missing or to start buying those issues that have articles of special interest to you.

 


Electronic versions of Haiti Philately

CD with back issues of Haiti PhilatelyBack issues of the first 40 volumes of the Society's journal are also available in electronic form on CD ROM, for those who may wish to obtain such information in PDF format. Individual issues and releases after Vol 40, No 4 are available as well, as noted below.



The Index of Haiti Philately

To gain the greatest benefit from the large volume of articles published in the Society's journal, readers will find the "Index to Haiti Philately" indispensable. Copies of the Index are available for cost plus a mailing fee. Electronic copies are also available of this thirty-one page publication.


The F. Burton Sellers Collection

CD with the Sellers collectionThe Haiti Philatelic Society offers collectors an opportunity to obtain a DVD containing scans of the comprehensive 64 volumes of the F. Burton Sellers' internationally award winning Haiti collection. The production is through the effort of the Society's former President, Peter C. Jeannopoulos.

The DVD contains almost 3,000 pages of the Sellers' collection. It does not include the Liberty Heads since this portion of his collection was sold years ago at auction. The postage stamp portion of the collection stops in 1969.

Files are available for download that will illustrate the quality of the photo/scans and the wealth of information that you will find throughout the 64 volumes. Those links follow the content listing below. This DVD is undoubtedly a beautiful and valuable record of a magnificent collection.

A mere description of this enduring collection will not adequately convey its extensive coverage of all aspects of the philately of Haiti. Interesting? An understatement to be sure!

From Insurrection of Slaves of Saint Domingue to the Independence of Haiti, 1791-1804

CD with the Insurrection of Slaves presentationThe Haiti Philatelic Society offers collectors an opportunity to obtain a DVD containing a comprehensive 47 page presentation by noted French philatelist Jean-François Gibot. It was used as supporting material during a conference held July 5, 2008 at the premises of the Academie de Philatélie, the French Academy of Philately.

The presentation recalls the period which saw the transformation of Saint Domingue into Haiti. Illustrating postal history reflecting the major historic events of that era, this work marks the change of the then colony into a new nation.

Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue

Cover of 1902 Special Studies workIn 2008, an important monograph was published that shed definitive light on one of the most perplexing issues within the philately of Haiti – the identification of genuine overprints versus numerous forgeries of this 1902 issue. Written by Peter C. Jeannopoulos, the title was published by the Haiti Philatelic Society as Special Study No. 1 and continues to be available from the Society.

Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue is the definitive volume relating to Haiti’s 1902 overprint. Its 122 pages are divided into five parts: Part I discusses the author’s methodology and a revised classification system. Part II focuses on the genuine overprint and its identifying features. With accurate illustrations, Part III clearly illustrates how each of the 29 different forgery types differs from the genuine.

Author Jeannopoulos, a former president of the Society and a member of the Collector’s Club of New York, said “Some of the findings may seem initially controversial but after a careful reading and viewing of the illustrations, I think most readers will have little doubt about my attention to detail and amount of conclusive research.”

The author’s research of the literature on the subject is comprehensive. Part IV points out misinformation and contradictions in that literature, as well as shortcomings in accompanying illustrations. There are eight Appendices that document and/or summarize this study. The work concludes with a detailed bibliography, which includes everything written at the time on the subject in the English language, as well as the more important references in German and French.

Of the 122 pages, there are 30 pages of color illustrations of earliest known usages, varieties, covers, largest known multiples, etc. The title is 8.5 x 11 inches in format, perfect bound with a color illustration on the cover.

Anyone interested in this issue is much advised to order a numbered copy since only 125 copies have been printed. The book is of interest not only to collectors of Haiti, but also will be of great interest to collectors of forgeries because of the author’s methodology in identifying them.

This work was the winner of a Gold Award in the open Literature Competition at the APS StampShow in Pittsburgh in August 2009.

Early Air Mail of Haiti

Cover of Air Mail Special Studies workIn 2010, the Society released its second monograph, Special Study No. 2, entitled Early Air Mail of Haiti. This publication is an important reference source for anyone interested in the aerophilately of Haiti and was written by former Society president, Peter C. Jeannopoulos. The work is a result of research by the author which yielded new discoveries concerning early Haitian experimental airmail flights conducted by United States Marine Corps pilots in the 1920s. Jeannopoulos carefully documents his findings versus those which have been noted in existing literature and presents his observations in a comprehensive, concise manner. The study itself spans 28 pages, with 18 pages in full color illustrating various early flights, and carefully details the newly identified discoveries.

Jeannopoulos’ research work began as a result of his study of flight cachet markings observed on Haitian experimental air mail covers. A previously unidentified flight cachet was found on several of them. As his research efforts progressed, the author also determined that recorded dates were not accurate for another more common cachet from that period.

While the scarcity of the newly identified cachet had not been established at the time of publication, this publication should assist collectors to check their collections and report their findings. Using existing catalog cachet identifications for convenience, the author has designed the new finding as “Type 3A”.

The monograph is divided into four segments:

  • Part I - Aerophilatelic Errors and Ambiguities
  • Part II – Type 3 Airmail Cachet
  • Part III – A New Discovery – Type 3A, and
  • Part IV – 1925 Airmail Covers

The author is a well known specialist in the philately of Haitian stamps and revenue paper. Besides competitively exhibiting at both national and international exhibitions, his previously published manuscripts at that time included Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue (2008), Images of Port au Prince (2000), and A Study of Haiti's 20 Centime Lithographed Stamp of 1895 and Plating Guide (1987). He has also published numerous articles concerning Haitian philately in mainstream philatelic and society journals as well as in other specialist publications.

This major work received a Silver Award in the open Literature Competition in August 2011 at the APS StampShow in Columbus, Ohio.

Haiti's First Flights

Cover of Haiti's First Flights workIn 2015, the Society released its third monograph, Special Study No. 3, Haiti's First Flights. Prepared by author Barbara A. Levine, this new work will serve as a key reference publication summarizing the development of Haitian aerophilately as documented by the many first flights associated with that Caribbean nation. This new work is 45 pages in length, features illustrations of some flight covers in color, and combines flight listings from previously published works, adding flights identified in specialist literature and by individual collectors. This publication also includes illustrations of Haitian air post cachets and error markings. An appendix compliments the other listings in the catalog with a discussion of additional flights of interest not categorized as first flights. The study concludes with a list of references offering the reader more options for further research.

This definitive work cross-references to other sources, adding flight number information when available. Designed to serve as a standard for airmail enthusiasts, details concerning flights are summarized in table format for ease of reference. Flights are listed in date order to facilitate identification by specific date. The tables contain entries for both inbound (to Haiti) and outbound (from Haiti) first flights.

The monograph is divided into seven segments, each representing a distinct period, reflecting the development of Haitian Air Post service, along with a separate section for Appendices.

  • Part I - Pioneer and Early U.S. Military Flights in Haiti
  • Part II – West Indian Aerial Express (WIAE)
  • Part III – New York Rio and Buenos Aires Airline (NYRBA)
  • Part IV – Pan American Airways (PAA)
  • Part V – Special Flights
  • Part VI – The Modern Era (World War II to the present)
  • Part VII – Appendices

The author is a well known specialist in Haitian aerophilately and has served as Editor of the Society's quarterly journal, Haiti Philately, since March 1999.

Haiti's 50c Nord Alexis Stamp of 1904

Cover of Haiti's 1904 50c Issue Special Studies work In 2016, the Society released its fourth monograph, Special Study No. 4, entitled Haiti’s 50c Nord Alexis Stamp of 1904. Written by former Society president Peter C. Jeannopoulos, this publication is an important reference work which sheds definitive light on this early postal issue of the Republic of Haiti. This monograph of 76 pages brings together information not readily available elsewhere from various sources in English, French, and German. In addition, this work includes unpublished notes of Dr. Clarence W. Hennan, and the writer’s correspondence with both Varro E. Tyler and Carroll L. Lloyd. All of these sources helped to provide insights in regard to the 50c Nord Alexis stamp, as well as other values of the series, and Haiti's Centenary issue. Errors in information previously published have been corrected and clarification has been made of earlier ambiguous statements recorded in philatelic literature.

Haiti’s 50c Nord Alexis Stamp of 1904 includes numerous illustrations designed to aid the reader in understanding the differences of the 50c Nord Alexis stamp, its reprints, and forgeries created by others. This study illustrates the relative scarcity of each to one another, as well as the scarcity of multiples, town cancels, and covers.

This publication is divided into six segments:

  • Part I - A comprehensive examination of the Genuine issue and varieties noted.
  • Part II - A thorough discussion of the Reprints of the issue and their characteristics.
  • Part III - A review of the two different types of Forgeries on record.
  • Part IV - A detailed survey of the overprints and surcharges on the 50c stamp which created essays, revenue stamps, and other postage stamp issues.
  • Part V - A comprehensive list of References.
  • Part VI - Fifteen Appendices with early articles from the philatelic press spanning the years 1904-7, including a translation of articles from Le Timbrophile de France and from the Kohl-Briefmarken-Handbuch (11th Edition).

The author is a well known specialist in the philately of Haitian stamps and revenue paper. Besides competitively exhibiting at both national and international exhibitions, he has also published numerous articles concerning Haitian philately in mainstream philatelic and society journals as well as in other specialist publications. His previously published manuscripts include Early Air Mail of Haiti (2010), Haiti’s 1902 Provisional Issue (2008), Images of Port au Prince (2000), and A Study of Haiti's 20 Centime Lithographed Stamp of 1895 and Plating Guide (1987).

Placing an order

To order any of our publications, please contact our Secretary-Treasurer, Georges Fauriol, by e-mail at sail49@yahoo.com or by post at the following address:

Mr. Georges Fauriol
P.O. Box 3104
Oakton, VA 22124

 

Purchasers may obtain their copy of Society publications through PayPal using the account name: treasurer@haitiphilately.org , but an additional fee of 5% of the total is required if using that payment method.

 

List of publication prices for Society members

Publication Price US
P & H
Canadian
P & H
Foreign
P & H
The Haiti Philately journal         
Volumes 1 - 20, per single printed issue $2.00-$2.50 $1.00 $1.00 $3.00
Volumes 20 – current issue, per single printed issue $3.00 $1.00 $1.00 $3.00
Electronic copy of any issue of HP, via e-mail $1.00 N/A N/A N/A
CD of Volumes 1 – 40, including a copy of the electronic ‘Index of HP’, Volumes 1 - 31 $25.00 $3.00 $3.00 $5.00
The Index of Haiti Philately publication        
Printed ‘Index of HP’, Volumes 1 – 31 (thirty-one pages in length) $10.00 $3.00 $4.00 $10.00
Electronic copy of ‘Index of HP’,
Volumes 1 – 31, via e-mail
$5.00 N/A N/A N/A
         
Special Studies        
#1 1902 Provisionals, printed copy $27.00 $4.00 $4.00 $13.00
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
printed copy
$10.00 $3.00 $3.00 $5.00
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
electronic copy
$10.00 N/A N/A N/A
#3 Haiti's First Flights, printed copy $20.00 $3.00 $4.00 $8.00
#4 Haiti’s 50c Nord Alexis Stamp of 1904, printed copy $25.00 $3.50 $4.50 $11.00
         
The DVD of the 64 volume
F. Burton Sellers Collection
$25.00 $3.00 $3.00 $5.00
         
DVD of 'The Insurrection of the Slaves from Saint Domingue to the Independence of Haiti' $4.00 $3.00 $3.00 $5.00

 

 

List of prices for non Society members

Publication Price US
P & H
Canadian
P & H
Foreign
P & H
The Haiti Philately journal         
Volumes 1 - 20, per single printed issue $3.00 $1.00 $1.00 $3.00
Volumes 20 – current issue, per single printed issue $4.00 $1.00 $1.00 $3.00
Electronic copy of any issue of HP, via e-mail $2.00 N/A N/A N/A
CD of Volumes 1 – 40, including a copy of the electronic ‘Index of HP’, Volumes 1 - 31 $35.00 $3.00 $3.00 See Below
The Index of Haiti Philately publication        
Printed ‘Index of HP’, Volumes 1 – 31 (thirty-one pages in length) $15.00 $3.00 $4.00 $10.00
Electronic copy of ‘Index of HP’,
Volumes 1 – 31, via e-mail
$10.00 N/A N/A N/A
         
Special Studies        
#1 1902 Provisionals, printed copy $35.00 $4.00 $4.00 $13.00
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
printed copy
$15.00 $3.00 $3.00 $5.00
#2 Early Airmail of Haiti,
electronic copy
$15.00 N/A N/A N/A
#3 Haiti's First Flights, printed copy $25.00 $3.00 $4.00 $8.00
#4 Haiti’s 50c Nord Alexis Stamp of 1904, printed copy $30.00 $3.50 $4.50 $11.00
         
The DVD of the 64 volume
F. Burton Sellers Collection
$35.00 $3.00 $3.00 See Below
         
DVD of 'The Insurrection of the Slaves from Saint Domingue to the Independence of Haiti' $6.00 $3.00 $3.00 See Below
         

Shipping Rates for CDs/DVDs for Non-Members of the Society:
Postal fees required for mailing CDs/DVDs to addresses outside the United States and Canada vary significantly from country to country. Although the Society subsidizes mailing costs for Members residing in those regions, Non-Members wishing to order CDs/DVDs should contact our Acting Secretary-Treasurer, Ubaldo Deltoro, for a quote regarding the mailing cost they will incur with their purchase. The Society regrets this is necessary, but remains on record that Non-Members of the Society continue to be welcome to purchase any of our electronic or printed publications. The requirement to obtain a shipping quote does not apply to Members of the Society.